Your browser, Internet Explorer, is unsupported and this site may not function correctly.

Open this page in Microsoft Edge

This website contains names and images of deceased Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples.

Navigate Senate Committees

After a change of government, in 1976 the committees were again reduced to seven with the discontinuation of the Standing Committee on Finance and Government Operations. This committee, however, proved to be indispensable and was reinstated a year later, bringing the total again to eight committees.

Other changes in the 1976 restructure included the renaming of three committees and the creation of a new Standing Committee on Science and the Environment.

Find out more

Gordon Sinclair Davidson, Senator for South Australia (1961, 1962, 1965-81), Interview with Bruce Edwards, 1984-86

National Library of Australia, TRC 4900/41, session 120, 00:13:44-00:15:19.
Full interview available at

Standing Committee on Finance and Government Operations, 1975. From left Senators Peter Walsh, Condor Laucke and Don Devitt; Mr R Joske [Secretary]; Senators Arthur Gietzelt [Chair], Ian Wood and Ellis Lawrie; Mr G Watters [Research Officer]

Standing Committee on Science and the Environment, 1981. Standing from left: Cleaver Elliott [Research Officer] and Sue Thomson [Research Officer]. Seated from left: Senators Colin Mason, Jean Melzer, Tony Mulvihill and Don Jessop [Chair], Peter Roberts [Secretary], Senators Michael Townley and David MacGibbon.