Your browser, Internet Explorer, is unsupported and this site may not function correctly.

Open this page in Microsoft Edge

This website contains names and images of deceased Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples.

Navigate Senate Committees

The Senate renamed its legislative and general purpose standing committees to conform to those in the House. The changes aimed ‘to have a mirror image set of committees in the Senate for the convenience of the parties and for people’s understanding of each committee’s work’.

The new Senate Standing Committee on Infrastructure appointed at this time was renamed the Standing Committee on Transport, Communications and Infrastructure on 24 November 1987.

Standing left to right: Standing left to right: Dr D Capp [Acting Secretary], Dr Andrew Theophanous MP, Mr Edward Grace MP, Mr Peter Baldwin MP, Mr A Kelly [Secretary]; Seated left to right: Mr Stewart McArthur MP, Mr Barry Cunningham MP, Mr David Hawker [Deputy Chair], Mr David Beddall MP [Chair], Mr Alan Morris MP.

House of Representatives Standing Committee on Industry, Science and Technology, 1989.

Left to right: Left to right: Mr D Drinkwater [Research Officer], Senator Bryant Burns, Senator David Brownhill, Senator Peter Baume, Mr P Keele [Secretary], Senator Bruce Childs [Chair], Senator Brian Archer, Senator John Coulter, Senator James McKiernan, Senator Peter Cook, Mr M Game [Research Officer].

Senate Standing Committee on Industry, Science and Technology, 1987